Category: Awards

Michigan Radio Wins Two PRNDI Awards

Michigan Radio was honored on June 24 with two awards from the Public Radio News Directors Incorporated (PRNDI). The station received a First Place award in the Large Newsroom-Nationally Edited Continuing Coverage category for its on-going reporting about the Flint water crisis. “The reporters at Michigan Radio took our commitment to keep the story of… read more

Lee and Formicola Posthumously Inducted Into Country Radio Hall of Fame

At ceremonies held in Nashville on June 21, former Detroit air personalities Linda Lee and Joe Wade Formicola were posthumously inducted into the 2017 Country Radio Hall of Fame. Kid Rock and CBS Radio’s Vice President of Programming Tim Roberts gave induction speeches on Lee’s behalf. Her husband, Jeff Young, and two daughters, Gina Holmes… read more

National Radio Hall of Fame Announces 2017 Class of Inductees

The 25-person National Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee presented 24 individuals and shows worthy of consideration to listeners and industry peers and the voting results are in. In just three years since public voting was reinstituted, the National Radio Hall of Fame reports an unprecedented level of audience participation with nearly 300,000 votes cast… read more

WDIV Receives NABEF Service to America Award

Graham Media Group’s WDIV-TV (Detroit) was presented with the Service to America Award on June 20 in Washington, D.C. by the National Association of Broadcasters Education Foundation (NABEF). WDIV received the prestigious award for its ongoing commitment to outstanding community service. In a news release, the NABEF said, “Through news coverage, philanthropy and community service,… read more

Celebrate With Fellow Broadcasters

You will not want to miss one of the highlights of the Advocacy Conference and Annual Meeting, the Hall of Fame and Lifetime Achievement Awards, held at the President’s Banquet on Tuesday, August 22 at Crystal Mountain Resort in Thompsonville. You will get to network with fellow broadcasters and honor five Michigan broadcasters. This year’s… read more

Linda Lee To Receive MAB Legacy Award

Linda Lee (Young) of WYCD-FM (Detroit) and nationally recognized radio personality, will receive the first MAB Legacy Award, posthumously, at the Advocacy Conference and Annual Meeting, August 22, during the Chairman’s Banquet at Crystal Mountain Resort in Thompsonville. Lee, who passed away March 31, 2017 will be honored among others for her outstanding career and… read more

Michigan Emmy Winners Announced

At ceremonies held Saturday Night (June 10) in Detroit, 15 Michigan television stations took home awards in the 39th Annual National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS), Michigan Chapter Emmy® Awards. The awards recognize outstanding achievement, raising industry standards, and improving the quality of television. Among the call letters receiving awards were WDIV-TV, WJBK-TV,… read more

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient and Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The Michigan Association of Broadcasters and the MAB Foundation are pleased to announce the 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees and the Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient, to be honored Tuesday, August 22 at Crystal Mountain Resort in Thompsonville. This year’s Lifetime Achievement honor goes to Marla Drutz, Vice-President and General Manager of WDIV-TV (Detroit). Drutz has held… read more

Public Media Impact Award Nominations Due June 7

2017 marks the 32nd year of honoring Michigan’s public broadcasters with the MAPB Public Media Impact Award. Two awards – one award for Donors and one award for Professionals – will be presented during a banquet at the August 2017 MAB Advocacy Conference & Annual Meeting at Crystal Mountain Resort in Thompsonville, MI. The awards honor individuals for their… read more

Michigan Recipients of 2017 Regional Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced its 2017 Edward R. Murrow Regional Award Winners, honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism. Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism. Among the winners in Region 7 are numerous Michigan broadcasters, both radio and television,… read more