Category: Awards

Let your Students Showcase their Best Work!

Just a reminder from the MAB Foundation that the Michigan Student Broadcast Awards Online Entry System is open and ready for your entries! Please refer to the official Online Entry instructions at for complete rules. So, spread the word…tell every student in Michigan that they are eligible to enter the competition for FREE with… read more

Are You Ready for the Broadcast Excellence Awards?

BACK TO MARCH:  Wednesday, March 8, 2017! The Lansing Center Lansing, MI It’s time to start thinking about the professional Broadcast Excellence Awards! The due date for all entries is January 13, 2017. Production and broadcast for all entries must have occurred between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2016. Entry Fees MAB or MAPB… read more

Michigan Radio wins Third Coast International Audio Award for Flint Documentary

The Michigan Radio documentary, Not Safe To Drink, has been recognized as an award winner by the Third Coast International Audio Festival. The annual Third Coast / Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Competition honors the most creative and compelling audio work being produced worldwide. Michigan Radio’s Not Safe To Drink documentary was selected as one of… read more

Specs Howard School Wins ACCSC Award

On September 21, Southfield-based Specs Howard School of Media Arts was one of a small number of schools in the United States to receive the School of Distinction Award from the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC). According to the ACCSC, “This award recognizes accredited member schools that demonstrated a commitment to the expectations… read more

Murrow Awards Presented to Michigan Stations

On October 10, the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) honored news operations nationwide with the 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards.  Seven Michigan radio and television stations were recipents of 15 2016 Murrow Awards. Among the national winners were two Michigan broadcasters (by category/award): Large Market Radio – News Documentary Not Safe to Drink Michigan Radio… read more

WLEN-FM (Adrian) Wins 2016 NAB Marconi AC Station of the Year

Lenawee Broadcasting Company’s WLEN-FM was named AC Station of the Year at the 2016 National Association of Broadcasters’ (NAB) Marconi Radio Awards. The awards were announced September 22 at the 27th annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner and Show, held during the Radio Show in Nashville. The prestigious awards recognize radio’s outstanding personalities and stations. Marconi finalists… read more

WXYT-FM (Detroit) Wins Marconi Sports Station of the Year Award

CBS Radio’s WXYT-FM  (97.1 The Ticket) was named Sports Station of the Year at the 2016 National Association of Broadcasters’ (NAB) Marconi Radio Awards. The awards were announced Thursday night (9/22) at the 27th annual NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner & Show held during the Radio Show in Nashville. Debbie Kenyon, VP/Market Manager for CBS Radio… read more

WGVU’s Shelley Irwin Wins Athena Award

WGVU-AM/FM (Grand Rapids) morning host/producer Shelley Irwin has been honored as recipient of the Grand Rapids Chamber of Commerce 2016 Athena Award, presented at ceremonies on September 15. The ATHENA Awards Program and ATHENA Young Professional Award are founded on the ATHENA Leadership Model® from ATHENA International, which identifies eight distinct attributes, called the ATHENA Tenets,… read more