RadioInk reports that a bipartisan coalition of 124 Members of Congress (119 Reps, five Senators) have introduced resolutions in the House of Representatives and the Senate opposing “any new performance fee, tax, royalty or other charge” on local broadcast radio stations. The Local Radio Freedom Act opposes any potential legislation that would impose new performance royalties on broadcast radio stations for music airplay.

Among those supporting the Local Radio Freedom Act from Michigan are Rep. Debbie Dingell (D-MI-12), Rep. Upton, Fred (R-MI-6), Rep. Tim Walberg, (R-MI-7) and Rep. Paul Mitchell (R-MI-10).

“America’s hometown broadcasters are deeply grateful for this broad, bipartisan display of Congressional support for the Local Radio Freedom Act,” said NAB President and CEO Gordon Smith. “Decade after decade, free radio airplay has propelled the careers of countless performing artists and generated hundreds of millions in revenue for the record labels. We thank lawmakers for standing in opposition to a job-killing performance royalty that threatens to destroy the economics of local radio.”

The prinicipal cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House (H. Con. Res. 20) are Reps. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and Michael Conaway (R-TX-11).  In the Senate (S. Con. Res. 5) the cosponsors of a companion resolution are Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM).


image_printPrint This Article